“The Ideal Bookshelf”

Standard

http://blog.idealbookshelf.com/
http://www.idealbookshelf.com/

The Ideal Book Shelf Blog and Website (links above), feature some of my favourite book artwork by artist Jane Mount.

She started the project of the Ideal Bookshelf in 2007 and has since then been painting people through their bookshelves; featuring the books they love.

portraits

Through the website you can order a painting of your own custom book shelf or you can order a print of a pre-made bookshelf.

<

This art makes me think of which books have shaped the person I am, have taught me things, have been there through rough times, and have enlightened my life. I don’t know how many books I have read in my 21 years, but I know that it is too many to fit on one of Mount’s bookshelves.
If I had to choose 7 books these are the ones I would choose:

1. The Girl-Son (Ann E. Neubeger) – This is my all time favourite book. I think I read it 8-10 times in elelmentary school alone, and just received my own copy a few months ago.

2. The Face on the Milk Carton (Caroline B. Cooney) – Another favourite from when I was growing up.

3. A Change of Heart (Jodi Picoult) – My favourite book, by my favouite author.

4. Outliers (Malcolm Gladwell) – Insightful, and thought provoking. It got me thinking about things I have never considered before.

5. The Catcher in the Rye (J. D. Salinger) – I read this book in highschool, and I instantly related to Holden’s character.

6. Still Alice (Lisa Genova) – Such an interesting perspective. A heart breaking story, but full of love that makes you appreciate your family and those close to you.

7. Firefly Lane (Kristin Hannah) – This is the book that led me to my second favourite author. It made me cry and I was hooked.

I would really love to have a portrait of my books. Maybe one day. Although I think it might be difficult to commit to 7 books, or even to one shelf….

Which books would you put on your bookshelf?

2 thoughts on ““The Ideal Bookshelf”

  1. Wow, thanks for sharing those cool websites. I might post something similar in the future. Anyway I really like the colourful painting although it is quite pricey (I live in Malaysia). Hhhhmm it’s hard to carefully select my favourite 7 books but I’ll give it a go:
    1. To Kill a Mockingbird (Harper Lee) – Atticus Finch is the best literary father of all time. From social psychology point of view, this book explores racism.

    2. Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins) – Despite being the lowest rated book in Goodreads, I love this book the most because it explores in depth issues of post-traumatic stress disorder, leadership and power.

    3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (J.K. Rowling) – My favourite book in the series because in my humble opinion, the book has the best mix of personal drama (Sirius Black) and comedy (the Weasley twins are extremely hilarious!)

    4. Kiss an Angel (Susan Elizabeth Phillips) – I love reading romance and this book is one of my favourite comfort reads. Well-written story with great character development and abundance of witty banter between hero and heroine.

    5. In Cold Blood (Truman Capote) – I’ve never read ‘Breakfast at Tiffany’s’ but decided to read this book for a book club meeting. True crime isn’t my preferred genre but wow, his writing is impeccable. I was captivated from start to finish.

    6. Mouth to mouth (Erin McCarthy) – Another book that surpasses my expectations. It’s a light romantic suspense book yet it gives some insights on the challenges of a hearing impaired individual. It’s funny and steamy too.

    7. The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Stephen Chbosky) – The simple writing style makes it an easy read. However beware, the book does handle heavy themes e.g. social isolation, abuse. Oh I like the music playlist as well as the list of books mentioned in the novel.

    Like

    • Thank you for your comment! I have read half of the books you would put in your shelf. I know it is so hard to choose. But I remember that on my real life book shelves I will be able to fit all of my books and no one will be left out. Hope to see you on here again in the future!

      Like

Leave a Reply

