Fictional Readers

Standard

fictional

They are few and far between, but when you meet one you feel an instant connection, and begin to relate.
They share the same passion as you, and sometimes to a level of obsession.
The can be different ages, from different genres, and come from different stories.
But, they all have one thing in common.
They are readers. They are fictional characters who read.
And, we met them in some of the stories, T.V shows, and films we love. (Sometimes solely for the reason one of the characters loves to read).

So I wanted my post to be original because I know these types of posts have been done before. So to do this I first made up my list on my own without searching for any lists already made online, just off the top of my head. After I came up with as many as I could I then searched for lists online. I was surprised because the majority of the lists I found contained the exact same characters and was limited to just a few. There’s Belle from the Disney Movie Beauty and the Beast (my fav), Matilda Wormwood from Ronald Dahl’s story Matilda, Hermione Granger from the film and books Harry Potter, and Rory Gilmore from the T.V show Gilmore Girls. I was also surprised because I was actually quite impressed with my own list and the additional characters I thought of that weren’t included on these other lists, or on very few of them.

Here is the list I came up with:

The usuals appearing on the majority of fictional reader lists:

Belle – Beauty and the Beast (Film)
Matilda Wormwood – Matilda (Book)
Rory Gilmore – Gilmore Girls (T.V Show)
Hermione Granger – Harry Potter Series (Books / Films)
Lisa Simpson – The Simpsons (T.V Show)

And some others:

Liesel Meminger – The Book Thief (Book / Film)
Alex Dunphy – Modern Family (T.V Show)
Klaus Baudelaire – A Series of Unfortunate Events (Books / Films)
Spencer Reid – Criminal Minds (T.V Show)
Will and Mary Anne Schwalbe – The End of Your Life Bookclub (Book) (I guess these two aren’t fictional characters but they are readers none the less!)
Tasha (Taystee) Jefferson and Poussey Washington – Orange is the New Black (T.V Show)

I can relate to so many of these characters and maybe that is why there are so many of them that come to mind when I think of fictional readers. It makes fictional stories more realistic when characters do something so human, normal, and something that is actually real in real life. Characters in book, films, and T.V shows can sometimes be too “made up”, too  unrealistic, too fictional, and so it is refreshing to see a character every once in a while doing something and being someone who you can feel a connection to through a love a books, in a real world or not.

 

Leave a Reply

