Book Oddities

Standard

book oddities

 

Have you ever read a book and thought to your self,” How could I possibly be enjoying this book?”.
The content is so strange, odd, or weird that you can’t help but wonder what it is about this book that you are enjoying. Or it could be that book isnt so much strange, as it is heart wretching, disturbing, or awful.

Maybe it’s a book that you avoid reading in public, so not to get the glances of others that say,” You’re reading about that?”
Gruseome, weird, bizarre, disturbing, or just plain odd, can be used to describe a number of books that I have read, and that I may eventually read. I have to admit that sometimes it is these books that I enjoy the most. I have to wonder, what it is exactly about reading books in this category that makes me enjoy them, that makes me continue reading them, that even makes me suggest them to others to read.

Some reasons may be that I am bored with other genres or the themes of other books and I want to read something that is out there. Maybe these books make me feel better about my self and give me an appreciation for the life that I have. It could be that I want to learn something new, or to experience a new author. Maybe it’s the thrill of a mystery, real life or not, or the fear and emotion that comes from reading a thriller. It could be the raw emotions that the characters feel in these books that make the stories feel so real.

Here are some of these types of books that I have read and enjoyed:

No matter how it is justified, it is an odd question in itself to ask how readers could possibly enjoy reading about, children killing each other to be the ultimate winner, a daughter terminally ill with cancer, a family of a mother and son confined to a single room, what dead bodies can be used for, etc.
What ever the reason may be, these books are written for a certain audience. Apparently, I am in that audience because when creating this list I found a lot more books to add than what I was expecting as they all came from my own book collection. I could also say that one of my favourite books is on this list (Flowers in the Attic – V.C Andrews) as well as my favourite author (Jodi Picoult). Maybe it isn’t necessary to justify why I am drawn to books with tough subject matter, as long as I enjoy reading them then the “why” doesn’t really matter does it?

Have you read any odd books? Why do you enjoy them? Do you enjoy this genre?

Leave a Reply

