Wishing I Could Step Into my book

Standard

tmh

 

One thing about reading books is that they have the ability to transport you to different times through history, and the future and different places around the world, real or imaginary. A book is a way of travelling without the distance, without the cost, and the time. But sometimes you come across a book in which reading about a place just doesn’t cut it. That book that makes you want to get up off your couch, your bed, your hammock, and set out to see the place you are reading about. It helps if this place is real.

One of the top places I want to visit most would be Nantucket Island, in Massachusetts. I discovered this island while reading books written by Elin Hilderbrand. The island is the recurring setting for her books. Each time I read one of her books I easily get transported to Nantucket and I have such a desire to go there in real life. One of the things that I want to see in real life is the ferry that takes travellers out to the Island. My imagination has done some pretty great work while reading Hilderbrand’s books, imagining the Island, the ferry, the beaches, lighthouses, and town. But I think it would make reading her books that much richer to be able to use real life images from my own travels to the Island to support my imagination, especially to see that ferry in real life. To ride it and feel the breeze, to see the island approaching, and be able to feel those memories again while reading Hilderbrand’s books.

 


What are some other destinations that you may have read about and will want to travel to one day?

 

3 thoughts on “Wishing I Could Step Into my book

    • I think it’s an interesting thought to think about how differently each person reading the same book imagines about what they are reading. They are reading the same content but the images they create for themselves can be so different. The same can also be comparing what the author imagined while they wrote the book to what the reader imagines while reading it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

